Road to Glory: UEFA Qualifying Unveiled for Inaugural FIFA Futsal Women’s World Cup 2025

[Valid RSS]

Estimated reading time:2 minutes, 17 seconds

Charting Europe’s Futsal Journey: Teams, Triumphs, and the Quest for Four Coveted Berths


The inaugural FIFA Futsal Women’s World Cup, scheduled for 2025, will feature 16 teams, with European qualifiers vying for four coveted spots in the final tournament. Although specific dates and venues are pending confirmation, the European qualifying process will unfold in two stages – the main round and the elite round – both conducted as single-venue mini-tournaments.

(Main Photograph: Octávio Passos/Uefa/Getty Images)

Confederation slots for the 2025 Futsal Women’s World Cup are allocated as follows:

  • Hosts: 1
  • AFC: 3
  • CAF: 2
  • OFC: 1
  • UEFA: 4


The UEFA qualifying pool comprises several competitive teams, including:

  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Croatia
  • Czechia
  • England
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gibraltar
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Kazakhstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Moldova
  • Netherlands
  • Northern Ireland
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Ukraine


Spain holds an impressive record, winning all three editions of the UEFA Women’s Futsal EURO in 2019, 2022, and 2023. Portugal secured runner-up positions in 2019 and 2022, as well as a third-place finish in 2023. Ukraine achieved fourth place in 2019, third in 2022, and second in 2023. Hungary, having qualified in 2022 and 2023 for the four-time EURO finals (expanding to eight teams in 2027), is a notable contender. Additionally, England, France, and Norway are set to make their competitive debuts.

With 26 entrants, all teams, except Portugal and Spain, will initiate their campaign in the main round. Should a European team be selected to host the World Cup, they earn direct qualification for the final tournament. The main round will see the 24 teams, excluding top seeds Portugal and Spain, drawn into six groups of four. Group winners and, if necessary, the best runner-up will advance to the elite round, contingent on the eventual host selection for the European World Cup.

In the elite round, eight teams, including Portugal and Spain, will be drawn into two groups of four. The top two from each group will secure qualification for the highly anticipated finals. Specific draw and match dates for both the main and elite rounds are yet to be announced.

Organ Donation

Futsal Focus is a supporter of Dáithí Mac Gabhann and his family’s campaign to raise awareness of Organ Donation. We encourage our readers to learn more about Organ Donation:

Futsal Focus

You can read more articles about international futsal by going to the top navigation bar or by clicking here

If you like this article and would like to keep updated on Futsal news. You can now follow Futsal Focus via Google News. Follow our page which will send you an alert as soon as we publish an article. Please click here and follow us on Google.

You can also keep updated on Futsal news by submitting your email below in the Subscribe to Futsal Focus option