On the 26 October the UEFA Futsal Champions League main round kicks off

[Valid RSS]

Estimated reading time:2 minutes, 50 seconds

Holders Sporting Clube de Portugal, and fellow former winners Barça, Kairat, Benfica and Ekaterinburg are among the 32 teams in action.

The UEFA Futsal Champions League main round runs from 26 to 31 October across eight mini-tournaments.

The nine preliminary round qualifiers join the 23 teams entering at this stage, including holders Sporting Clube de Portugal. The sides are split into two paths with the number of teams going through from each group to the 3 November elite round draw varying between both.

Main round groups

Path A

Group 1 (27–30 October): Benfica (POR), Sinara Ekaterinburg (RUS), Halle-Gooik (BEL), Lučenec (SVK, hosts)

Group 2 (27–30 October): Sporting CP (POR, holders), Dobovec (SVN, hosts), Atyrau (KAZ), ACCS Asnières Villeneuve 92 (FRA)

Group 3 (26–29 October): Barça (ESP), Levante (ESP), Kauno Žalgiris (LTU, hosts) Viten Orsha (BLR)

Group 4 (27–30 October): Kairat Almaty (KAZ), Tyumen (RUS), Pesaro (ITA, hosts), SK Plzeň (CZE)

The top three teams in each of the four groups proceed to the elite round. This is an exciting development for many of the clubs trying to reach the elite round for the first time in their history.

Path B

Group 5 (27–30 October): Record Bielsko-Biała (POL), Luxol St. Andrews (MLT, hosts), Haladás (HUN), Hammarby (SWE)

Group 6 (28–31 October): United Galati (ROU), Uragan Ivano-Frankivsk (UKR, hosts), Liqeni (KOS), Araz Naxçivan (AZE)

Group 7 (27–30 October): Olmissum (CRO, hosts), Leo (ARM), Diamant Linz (AUT), KMF FON (SRB)

Group 8 (27–30 October): Mostar SG (BIH, hosts), Hovocubo (NED), Dinamo Plus (MDA), Kampuksen Dynamo (FIN)

The winner of each group proceed to the elite round.

Key facts

  • Holders Sporting were joined in this round by fellow former winners Barça (whom they beat in the 2021 final in Zadar), Kairat, Benfica and Ekaterinburg.
  • Barça beat Levante on penalties to win the Spanish title last season.
  • Kairat are making a record 18th appearance, 2014 bronze-medallists Araz their 16th appearance.
  • Diamant Linz are the first Austrian side to get through a round of UEFA futsal competition.
  • Dinamo Plus are the first Moldovan club to make it past the preliminary round since 2009/10.
  • Levante, Atyrau and Plzeň will make their debuts in this round while FON, Haladás and Liqeni came through the preliminary round on their maiden appearances.
  • Kauno Žalgiris previously entered as Vytis; Dinamo Plus previously featured as Dinamo Chişinău
    Rizvan Farzaliyev of Araz equalled Lúcio’s record of 69 UEFA futsal club appearances during the preliminary round.
  • Group 3 is at Žalgiris Arena in Kaunas, venue for the 2021 FIFA Futsal World Cup final on 3 October, in which Levante’s Maximiliano Rescia played for Argentina.


Elite round & final tournament

The 16 clubs will compete in four groups of four, drawn at 14:00 CET on 3 November.
The four group winners from 30 November to 5 December will progress to the knockout final tournament on 28 or 29 April & 30 April or 1 May.

You can read more articles about domestic futsal by going to the top navigation bar or click here

If you like this article and would like to keep updated on Futsal news, developments, etc then you can now follow Futsal Focus via Google News by following our page which will send you an alert as soon as we publish an article so please click here and follow us on Google.

You can also keep updated on Futsal news, developments, etc then please submit your email below in the Subscribe to Futsal Focus option.

Follow Futsal Focus by clicking on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram or on the social media buttons on the website.