Historic first for Northern Ireland women’s futsal team and their development

[Valid RSS]

Estimated reading time:2 minutes, 3 seconds

The newly established Northern Ireland’s women’s futsal team played their first ever match on Sunday (15 April) with a development game against Banbridge Town.

The game, at Shankill Leisure Centre, was a tough challenge against a top men’s side, but the women’s team competed right to the end in a 6-4 defeat.

East Belfast’s Shelley Stothers made a little bit of Northern Ireland football history by becoming the first goal-scorer for the women’s international futsal team.

The other goal-scorers were Rachel McConnell of Portadown Ladies who scored twice and Siobhan Bell of St James Swifts.

Coach Keith Gibson said, ‘It was a great opportunity for the team to get match experience. We have been working really hard over the winter developing tactical knowledge and Sunday was about putting that into practice.

‘The new Women’s International team is the latest development of our futsal strategy ‘Game Changer’. The Irish FA is committed to developing a culture of futsal and this exciting programme provides further opportunities for women to pull on the green shirt and ultimately to represent Northern Ireland in international competition.’

The Irish FA would like to thank Shankill Leisure Centre staff and Belfast City Council for their help and support of the Female futsal programmes

If you would like more information on any of the Irish FA Futsal programmes, please contact Jackie Blyth – jackie.blyth@irishfa.com

Northern Ireland women’s futsal squad v Banbridge Town

Amber Dempster – Linfield Ladies

Heather Mearns – Crusaders Strikers

Louise Docherty – Cliftonville Ladies

Olivia Brown – Comber Rec Ladies

Nadene Caldwell – Glentoran Belfast United

Shelley Stothers – East Belfast Ladies

Megan Weatherall – Cliftonville Ladies

Rachel McConnell – Portadown Ladies

Hollie Johnston – Carnmoney Ladies

Courtney Adamson – Portadown Ladies

Anna Daley – Bangor Ladies

Siobhan Bell – St James Swifts

Megan McCabe – Portadown Ladies

Aimee McNeill – Crusaders Strikers

Hannah Henderson – Ballymena Allstars

Alice Harkness – Tranmere Rovers

Erin Hennirty – Comber Rec Ladies

Taken from Irish FA website

If you like the information provided, you can read more articles about global futsal by going to the top navigation bar or click here

If you like this article and would like to keep updated on Futsal news, developments etc then please submit your email below in the Subscribe to Futsal Focus option.

Follow Futsal Focus by clicking on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram or on the social media buttons on the website.