2022 Futsal EURO qualifying round draw made today

[Valid RSS]

Estimated reading time:2 minutes, 36 seconds

The qualifying round draw is made, involving 33 of the record entry of 55 nations.


UEFA Futsal EURO 2022 has a new format and an expanded 16-team final tournament in the Netherlands, and for the first time 50 nations have entered, with 33 of them involved in the qualifying round.

Qualifying round draw: 29 January–1 February

  • Group A: Bosnia and Herzegovina (hosts), Switzerland, Cyprus, Gibraltar
  • Group B: Belgium (hosts), Montenegro, Armenia, Scotland
  • Group C: Poland, Sweden, Greece, Malta (hosts)
  • Group D: Albania, Bulgaria (hosts), Andorra, San Marino
  • Group E: Hungary, Turkey, Lithuania (hosts), Northern Ireland
  • Group F: Georgia (hosts), Kosovo, Germany, Austria
  • Group G: Latvia (hosts), Denmark, Estonia
  • Group H: Moldova (hosts), England, Israel
  • Group I: North Macedonia (hosts), Norway, Wales
  • Austria and Northern Ireland are making their debuts
  • Group winners progress directly to the qualifying group stage to join 16 teams given byes
  • The nine runners-up and five best third-placed teams (not counting results against fourth-placed teams) enter the qualifying play-offs in April

Hosts: Netherlands

Qualifying format
Qualifying will consist of four stages: qualifying round (mini-tournaments), qualifying round play-offs (home and away), qualifying group stage (home and away) and play-offs (home and away).

  • Hosts Netherlands enter in final tournament
  • The teams competing in the 2020 FIFA Futsal World Cup elite round will enter in the qualifying group stage: Azerbaijan, Belarus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Italy, Kazakhstan, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Ukraine
  • All other entrants start in the qualifying roun

Draw procedure

  • Teams were split into four seeding tiers according to the new Elo-based futsal men’s national-team coefficient ranking taken on 28 October 2019. The fourth tier has six teams, to complete the four-team groups.
  • Nine teams were pre-selected as mini-tournament hosts and placed in Pot 1, drawn into the position according to their coefficient ranking. As Malta are in tier 4, they had to be placed in a four-team group.
  • The remaining teams were drawn by seeding tier to fill the remaining places in the group
  • Based on decisions taken by the UEFA Executive Committee, Kosovo and Bosnia & Herzegovina cannot be drawn into the same group

Draw pots

Pot 1: mini-tournament hosts
Bosnia and Herzegovina (seeding position 1)
Belgium (1)
Georgia (1)
Latvia (1)
North Macedonia (1)
Moldova (1)
Bulgaria (2)
Lithuania (3)
Malta (4)

Pot 2: position 4
San Marino
Northern Ireland

Pot 3: position 3

Pot 4: position 2

Pot 5: position 1

Road to the Netherlands
Qualifying round play-off draw: 13 February 2020, Nyon
Qualifying round play-offs: April 2020
Qualifying group stage draw: 14 May 2020, Nyon
Qualifying group stage matchdays 1 & 2: February 2021
Qualifying group stage matchdays 3 & 4: April 2021
Qualifying group stage matchdays 5 & 6: September 2021
Play-off draw: September 2021, Nyon
Play-offs: October 2021
Final tournament draw: late 2021, tbc

Final tournament: 19 January–6 February 2022, Netherlands

If you like the information provided, you can read more articles about international futsal by going to the top navigation bar or click here

If you like this article and would like to keep updated on Futsal news, developments, etc then please submit your email below in the Subscribe to Futsal Focus option.

Follow Futsal Focus by clicking on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram or on the social media buttons on the website.