England or Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina rivals for EURO 2022

[Valid RSS]

Estimated reading time:2 minutes, 2 seconds

England will compete with Macedonia between the 2-11 November for a place in the main round group 4 qualifier.


The UEFA Futsal EURO 2022 qualifying group stage draw has split the teams into eight groups of four, played home and away between November 2020 and April 2021. This will be a very difficult group for the English national team should the progress past Macedonia. Romania has EURO main competition experience plus they once defeated England 12-0, 15 years ago, the English national team has progressed since then but this would still be a tough test for the current team.  Serbia has made it to the quarter-finals of the competition twice and finished in 4th place in 2016. Bosnia and Herzegovina have yet to qualify for the main competition and will be a test for both countries to see who can use this competition as a development stepping stone. England currently sits 59th in the world rankings and will find this group a real challenge but players look forward to such competition and it will be interesting to see how the players fare against the Macedonians, and should they progress to the Euro 2022 main group qualifier, it would be a fantastic achievement.

Of the eight qualifying groups, the eight group winners and the six best seconds will achieve the direct ticket to the final phase. The other two seconds will be played in a tie in the last place. The final phase of the tournament will be played between January 9 and 6 February 2022, for the first time with 16 teams in contention, four more than in the last edition, in 2018, which Portugal won.

The EURO 2022 groups for the main round are:

  • Group 1: San Marino/Denmark*, Croatia, Albania, Ukraine
  • Group 2: Bulgaria/Armenia*, France, Georgia, Russia
  • Group 3: Turkey/Greece*, Azerbaijan, Slovakia, Moldova
  • Group 4: England/North Macedonia*, Romania, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Group 5: Israel/Cyprus*, Kazakhstan, Hungary, Belarus
  • Group 6: Switzerland/Germany*, Spain, Latvia, Slovenia
  • Group 7: Montenegro/Lithuania*, Italy, Belgium, Finland
  • Group 8: Poland, Portugal (holders), Norway, Czech Republic

*Last places decided by the qualifying round play-offs (2–11 November)

If you like the information provided, you can read more articles about International futsal by going to the top navigation bar or click here

If you like this article and would like to keep updated on Futsal news, developments, etc then please submit your email below in the Subscribe to Futsal Focus option.

Follow Futsal Focus by clicking on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram or on the social media buttons on the website.