The Road to the 2020 World Cup mapped out

[Valid RSS]

Estimated reading time:1 minute, 22 seconds

There is just over a year to go until the ninth FIFA Futsal World Cup kicks off in Lithuania on 12 September 2020. Twenty-four teams from six confederations will battle it out for futsal’s greatest accolade until 4 October.

How many places are allocated to each confederation, and when can countries begin booking their tickets to Lithuania? The answers to these questions can be found at a glance below.

AFC (Asian Football Confederation)

✅Places: 5
?Qualification: 2020 AFC Futsal Championship – Turkmenistan (27 February – 8 March 2020), preliminary round (16 – 27 October 2019)

CAF (Confédération Africaine de Football)

✅Places: 3
?Qualification: 2020 Africa Futsal Cup of Nations – Morocco (28 January – 9 February 2020)

CONCACAF (The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football)

✅Places: 4
?Qualification: 2020 CONCACAF Futsal Championship (dates TBC)

CONMEBOL (South American Football Confederation)

✅Places: 4
?Qualification: South American futsal qualifiers (dates TBC)

OFC (Oceania Football Confederation)

✅Places: 1
?Qualification: 2019 OFC Futsal Nations Cup, Noumea, New Caledonia (28 October – 2 November 2019)
Teams: New Caledonia (hosts), American Samoa, Fiji, New Zealand, Solomon Islands, Tahiti, Tonga, Vanuatu

UEFA (Union of European Football Associations)

✅Places: 6 + hosts (Lithuania)
?Qualification: preliminary round (29 January – 3 February 2019), main round (22 – 27 October 2019), elite round (28 January – 2 February 2020), play-offs (9 & 12 April 2020)

If you like the information provided, you can read more articles about International Futsal by going to the top navigation bar or click here

If you like this article and would like to keep updated on Futsal news, developments, research etc then please submit your email below in the Newsletter section or by clicking on the Subscribe to Futsal Focus option on the header.

Follow Futsal Focus by clicking on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram or on the social media buttons on the right sidebar.